IntuiScript : a digital notebook for learning writing in elementary schools

 

Context :

  • Project management:
  • Partners in the project:
    • Regional education authority of Rennes – Brittany Region – Loustic Laboratory – ESPE Of Brittany
  • Duration: 36 months (2014-2017)

 

Overview:

The Intuiscript project is part of the national project (Investissement d’Avenir – PIA): Innovative digital services and content for basic learning at school in the e-education sector. Started in 2014, the project will end in December 2017. The project is jointly managed by the company Learn & Go (Script & Go) and the research team Intuidoc of the IRISA laboratory. This project is supported by the Brittany Region, the Rennes Academy, the LOUSTIC laboratory and the ESPE of Brittany.

IntuiScript aims for designing a digital notebook dedicated to handwriting learning at primary schools, using pen based digital-tablets. IntuiScript targets students ranging from kindergarten to primary school. This project resulted in the design of a very innovative digital learning tool centred on the acquisition of graphomotor gesture for the learning of handwriting.

 

One of the main goals is to provide children real-time feedback to make them more autonomous. These feedbacks are made possible by the design of real-time handwriting analysis and recognition engines developed by the IntuiDoc research team. Thus, the child can know whether what he has traced is in conformity in terms of form, direction or order of writing with respect to the teacher instruction. The child will then be able to self-evaluate and thus acquire an autonomy in his / her learning.

Moreover,  this online analysis makes possible a dynamic adaptation of the pedagogical scenario to each child according to his own difficulties.

 

In addition, the teacher has a dashboard in which he can visualize the evolution and achievements of all his students. Thus, he can identify as soon as possible the difficulties’ variety the children encountered and, with the author mode, he is be able to target and plan pedagogical sessions.

 

The IntuiScript project complies with a user-centred design approach, based on iterative campaigns of development and test with more than 1000 children from three to seven years old, in 40 pilot-classes, and implying also teachers and pedagogical experts.The project has now matured and resulted in a product that will be marketed in the autumn of 2017: the Kaligo Digital Workbook (http://www.cahier-kaligo.com/).

 

Contact – Scientific Manager

Éric Anquetil (eric.anquetil@irisa.fr) Web page
Full professor at INSA Rennes, IRISA laboratory
Head of Intuidoc team (http://www.irisa.fr/intuidoc)

Researchers and engineers in the IntuiDoc team, involved in the project:

Nathalie Girard (Associate Professor, University Rennes 1, IRISA lab)
Damien Simonnet (Postdoctoral researcher, INSA, IRISA lab)
Mickael Renault (Research Engineer, INSA, IRISA lab)

 

Publications:

Database:

This first version of the database has been extracted from the first short-term test campaigns allowing to evaluate the pedagogical relevance of educational scenarios proposed. It contains description of 27.000 handwritten characters (24 different cursive letters), written by 147 children (anonymous ID) with a stylus on a digital tablet. Among the different features, the digital tablet allows the observation of the time required to write a specific symbol, the number of strokes used to write it, and also the pressure applied by the children on the stylus all along each drawing. Moreover, the score progression along the sequence is recorded and each score can be easily linked to specific criteria in the gesture done.

https://www-intuidoc.irisa.fr/children-handwritings-database/

 

Usefull links:

Videos / Reports:

Projet Intuiscript : cahier numérique pour l’aide à l’apprentissage de l’écriture à l’école

  • Pilotes du Projet :
  • Partenaires au projet :
    • Académie de Rennes – Région Bretagne – Laboratoire Loustic – ESPE de Bretagne
  • Durée : 36 mois (2014-2017)

Le projet Intuiscript fait partie du projet national (Investissements d’avenir) : Services et contenus numériques innovants pour les apprentissages fondamentaux à l’école dans le secteur de l’e-éducation. Il a été lancé en 2014 et s’achève en décembre 2017. Le projet est dirigé conjointement par l’entreprise Learn&Go (Script&Go) et l’équipe de recherche Intuidoc du laboratoire de l’IRISA. Ce projet est soutenu par la Région Bretagne, l’académie de Rennes, le laboratoire des usages LOUSTIC et l’ESPE de Bretagne.

Le projet IntuiScript a pour objectif de concevoir un cahier numérique pour l’aide à l’apprentissage de l’écriture à l’école en utilisant des tablettes équipées de stylet. IntuiScript cible les élèves de la maternelle à l’école primaire. Ce projet a abouti à la conception d’un outil d’apprentissage numérique très innovant centré sur l’acquisition du geste graphomoteur pour l’apprentissage de l’écriture manuscrite.

Le cœur de l’innovation pédagogique repose sur la capacité à délivrer en temps réel des feedbacks immédiats et précis à l’enfant sur ses productions manuscrites. Ces feedbacks sont rendus possibles par la conception de moteurs d’analyse et de reconnaissance temps réel de l’écriture manuscrite développés par l’équipe de recherche IntuiDoc. Ainsi, l’enfant peut savoir si ce qu’il a tracé est conforme en termes de forme, de sens ou d’ordre d’écriture vis-à-vis de la consigne de l’enseignant. L’enfant va alors pouvoir s’autoévaluer et ainsi acquérir une autonomie dans son apprentissage. 

Le cahier numérique offre aussi des scénarii pédagogiques adaptés dynamiquement aux difficultés de l’enfant, repérées automatiquement par le système. 

L’enseignant de son côté aura à sa disposition un mode « auteur » lui permettant d’élaborer ses scénarii pédagogiques. Il pourra de plus, grâce à un tableau de bord, avoir un suivi de l’ensemble des réalisations des enfants pour repérer au plus tôt la nature de leur difficulté et ainsi pouvoir cibler et planifier ses séances pédagogiques. 

 

Le projet IntuiScript a été construit sur la base d’une conception centrée utilisateur, avec près de 40 classes pilotes réparties sur l’ensemble de la région Bretagne. Plus de 1000 enfants, 40 enseignants et 4 inspecteurs de l’éducation ont été impliqués dans ce projet. Le projet est aujourd’hui arrivé à maturation et a abouti à un produit qui va être commercialisé à l’automne 2017 : le cahier numérique Kaligo (http://www.cahier-kaligo.com/)

Contact – Responsable Scientifique
Eric Anquetil (eric.anquetil@irisa.fr)
Professeur à l’INSA Rennes, Laboratoire de l’IRISA
Responsable de l’équipe Intuidoc team (http://www.irisa.fr/intuidoc)

Chercheurs et ingénieurs de l’équipe IntuiDoc impliqués dans le projet IntuiScript
Nathalie Girard (Maitre de Conférences)
Damien Simonnet (Post-Doctorant)
Mickaël Renault (Ingénieur)

Publications Scientifiques en lien avec IntuiScript

Base de données :

Les premières campagnes de test à court terme ont permis l’extraction d’une première base de données contenant les écritures des enfants. Dans un premier temps, cette base permet d’évaluer la pertinence pédagogique des scénarios éducatifs proposés. Il contient une description de 27 000 caractères manuscrits (24 lettres cursives différentes), écrit par 147 enfants (ID anonyme) avec un stylet sur une tablette numérique. Parmi les différentes fonctionnalités, la tablette numérique permet d’observer le temps requis pour écrire un symbole spécifique, le nombre de traits utilisés pour l’écrire, ainsi que la pression appliquée par les enfants sur le stylet tout au long de chaque dessin. En outre, la progression du score tout au long d’une séance est enregistrée et chaque score peut être facilement lié à des critères spécifiques dans le geste réalisé.

https://www-intuidoc.irisa.fr/children-handwritings-database/

Liens Web

Vidéos Reportage

M6: https://vimeo.com/140660028
FR3: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wWfJuwgPz0
FR3: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6GHj4s_qzQ